Herts for Learning Online
:: Induction for Governors ::
This all day course is for new governors of schools, academies and MAT's.

This course is very important for all new governors so that they can be as effective as possible in helping the governing board in its role to secure school improvement. Delegates benefit from the opportunity to network with new governors from other schools and academies.

We recommend that all new governors attend the Induction course within the first 3 months of being appointed.

In particular new governors derive maximum benefit if they book onto a course which takes place after they have attended at least one governing board meeting.

Outcomes

Governors will gain:
  • an understanding of the three roles of the governing board
  • knowledge of how schools work including the curriculum
  • an appreciation of an effective meeting and how to participate.

Outline

  • The three key roles of the governing board will be covered during the course:
      1. vision and strategic
      2. holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school
      3.Financial management and best value
  • How to get to know your school and taking part in effective meetings

The course will use a variety of teaching strategies including group discussion, case studies and tutor input.

Tutor:
Governance

Cost:
Subscribers to Governor Training: No charge
Non-subscribing schools: £175.00 per delegate

Lunch is provided so please advise of any food allergies.

Cancellation off this training event requires 5 clear working days' notice by emailing governance@hertsforlearning.co.uk (cancellations will not be received by phone) otherwise:
  • non-subscribers are charged the full cost of the training (£175 per delegate)
  • subscribers are charged £30 per delegate

    Prices are exclusive of VAT.

 :: Current Courses :: 
Town/Venue Dates Time Course Code Availability
  
Hemel Hempstead, Holiday Inn, Hemel Wed 25 Jan 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Waiting List
Watford, Mercure London Watford Sat 28 Jan 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Waiting List
Hatfield, Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Sat 04 Feb 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Waiting List
Waltham Cross, Theobalds Park, Cheshunt Fri 03 Mar 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Watford, Mercure London Watford Sat 04 Mar 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Stevenage, Hertfordshire Development Centre Sat 11 Mar 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Waltham Cross, Theobalds Park, Cheshunt Sat 18 Mar 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Hemel Hempstead, Holiday Inn, Hemel Sat 18 Mar 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Stevenage, Hertfordshire Development Centre Tue 21 Mar 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
St Albans, Aubrey Park Hotel, Redbourn Sat 25 Mar 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Hatfield, Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Thu 20 Apr 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Watford, Mercure London Watford Sat 22 Apr 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Stevenage, Hertfordshire Development Centre Sat 29 Apr 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Waltham Cross, Theobalds Park, Cheshunt Sat 06 May 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
St Albans, Aubrey Park Hotel, Redbourn Sat 13 May 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
  
Watford, Mercure London Watford Mon 15 May 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Hatfield, Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Sat 20 May 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Stevenage, Hertfordshire Development Centre Sat 10 Jun 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Hemel Hempstead, Holiday Inn, Hemel Sat 17 Jun 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Stevenage, Hertfordshire Development Centre Thu 22 Jun 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Waltham Cross, Theobalds Park, Cheshunt Sat 01 Jul 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
Hatfield, Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Sat 15 Jul 2017 09:30 - 16:30 Spaces Available
  

Browse Course Venues And Dates
  • Browse the course dates and venues, then pick a course suitable for you
  • Select the next to the course you wish to book.
Book Course
  • Click on the to proceed